conference room during the 2014 STA ceremony

The 2014 STA ceremony, held at the Washington Hilton Hotel

The Sustainable Transport Award is presented each January at a ceremony in Washington DC. The event is an opportunity for members of the transport community to come together to celebrate advances in the field, and honor cities taking steps to become more sustainable. At the event, the award finalists present their accomplishments and the winner is announced. The STA ceremony is free and open to the pubic with an RSVP. The event is often held during the Transportation Research Board conference, which attracts over 12,000 transport professionals.



MC Enrique Peñalosa hosts the 2013 STA

MC Enrique Peñalosa hosts the 2013 STA

In past years, the event has featured many visionaries and leaders in urban transport. Speakers have included former Bogotá Mayor Enrique Peñalosa, New York City Transportation Commissioner Janette Sadik-Khan, Mexico City Mayor Marcelo Ebrard, then Under Secretary for Policy at the US Department of Transportation Polly Trottenberg, Buenos Aires Secretary of Transportation Guillermo Dietrich, and Oregon Congressman Earl Blumenauer.